How to Open a Marijuana Dispensary in Washington
By Maddy Teka, Esq. | Reviewed by Bridget Molitor, JD | Last updated April 21, 2020
Medical marijuana has been legal in Washington state since 1998. In 2012, the state also decriminalized the recreational use of marijuana. Since then, the cannabis industry has boomed, and entrepreneurs have opened successful businesses. While most businesses come with risk, however, the cannabis industry is particularly risky, with numerous complex regulations and requirements.
If you are interested in starting your own cannabis business and running a dispensary, take the time to understand Washington’s rules and regulations for marijuana businesses. The table below outlines the relevant laws that you need to be aware of before opening a dispensary in Washington.
Are There Different Types of Licenses Available?
There are three types of licenses are available for dispensaries;
Each application has a unique set of requirements.
Criminal History That Might Prevent You From Getting a License
The Washington Liquor and Cannabis Board will do background checks, so applicants should disclose any criminal history.
The board uses a point-based system to determine which crimes bar a person from obtaining a license. The board will not issue licenses to people who are assigned eight points or higher. For instance, a person will not qualify for a dispensary permit with a felony conviction (felonies are generally assigned 12 points).
You can find a list of crimes that might bar an applicant from obtaining a license on the Washington State LegislatureвЂ™s website.
How Old do You Need to Be to Open a Dispensary?
You must be over 21 years old to apply for a license
Is There a Residency Requirement to Open a Dispensary?
You must reside in the state of Washington for at least six months prior to filing an application
Where Can Your Dispensary Be?
Revised Code of Washington (RCW) section 69.50.331(8) prohibits licensing of premises within one thousand feet of the following facilities:
- Primary and secondary schools
- Recreational facilities
- Public parks
- Public transit centers
- Child care centers
Cities and counties can reduce the distance to a minimum of 100 feet by enacting ordinances. Exceptions apply.
How Much Are the Application Costs to Open a Dispensary?
You need to pay a nonrefundable $250 application fee.
You should also keep in mind the capitalization requirements and indirect costs that come up when starting a business. According to Marijuana Business News, these costs range from $43,900 to $135,000.
Hours of Operation
The state law permits cannabis businesses to operate between 8 a.m.вЂ“12 a.m.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Who Is Responsible for Issuing Licenses?
The Washington Liquor and Cannabis Board is responsible for licensing and regulating WashingtonвЂ™s cannabis industry. You will need to check with the board to determine whether it is accepting new applications for licenses.
Who Qualifies for a Marijuana License?
Individuals and business entities can qualify for a license if the license is issued in the names of вЂњthe true party of interest.вЂќ Sole proprietorships, general partnerships, and corporations are among the parties that would qualify as parties of interest. Look at WAC 314-55-035 to see who qualifies.
Once you submit your application to get a marijuana license, a marijuana investigator from the board will contact you to ensure you have presented the required documents. Before the board starts processing your application, it needs to obtain the following information:
- Information about your business location and structure, including floor plans, lease information, purchase agreements
- Forms on your proposed business structure.
- Information on your criminal history
- Information verifying your identity. This includes a copy of approved identification and your fingerprint cards
- Information about your finances, including a source of funds statement, a copy of your tax returns and previous bank statements
- Sworn statements and affidavits
Was Your Marijuana License Application Denied?
The board might deny your application for a number of reasons. If that happens, you have one of two options; request an administrative hearing as per the Administrative Procedure Act of the state, or re-apply when the board opens applications again.
Is There a Limit on How Much I Can Sell in a Dispensary?
Although Washington has decriminalized marijuana, you still canвЂ™t sell marijuana beyond the specified limit. Section 15 of the Initiative measure No. 502 states that in one day, a licensed retailer can only sell either:
- 1 ounce of useable marijuana; or
- 72 ounces of liquid form marijuana-infused products
Note: At the time this article was written, Washington state was not accepting applications for producers, retailers, processors, and growersвЂ™ licenses. You should visit the boardвЂ™s website to see when applications do open.
Are the Laws Similar Throughout the State?
Washington law gives cities and counties broad powers to regulate the cannabis industry in their respective areas. For instance, a city may reduce the licensing of dispensaries located less than 1,000 feet from the facilities listed above. Note, however, that the distance cannot be less than 100 feet.
City ordinances may also limit the number of dispensaries allowed in a state. The, City of Everett, for instance, limits the number of cannabis businesses to only five stores. Similarly, the Renton Ordinance No. 5816 limits marijuana shops in the city of Renton to five retail stores.
- Marijuana Business: Licenses, Permits, and Planning
- Washington State Laws
- Details on State Marijuana Laws
Do You Need an Attorney to Assist With Opening a Dispensary?
Getting the appropriate documents ready and making sure you have complied with all the regulatory requirements may prove to be difficult because the cannabis industry is heavily regulated in Washington. You may want to find a Washington cannabis business and commercial attorney to assist with the process.If you are interested in running a dispensary in Washington, you need to consider the state rules and regulations surrounding marijuana businesses. Read FindLaw's article to learn the legal requirements for starting a marijuana dispensary.
Opening a Cannabis Dispensary in Washington
Posted by Toker Grace on Jan 6, 2020 10:23:51 AM
Cannabis businesses are booming. The industry is projected to generate over $100 billion in revenue within the next five years. A massive portion of that amount is guaranteed to be generated in the state of Washington. Here are a few important factors that potential cannabis business owners and operators ought to consider when establishing a successful as well as legally sound cannabis dispensary in Washington.
Disclaimer: Cannabis laws vary from upon state. Although these key points are essential when choosing to open a dispensary, This article is not legally-binding professional advice. Business owners, investors, and operators must acquire the appropriate legal counsel in the state of Washington when considering opening a dispensary or obtaining a medical marijuana card.
How to Obtain a License to Sell Cannabis
At the time of this post, the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board has not reopened its application process to obtain a license to sell cannabis. However, there is still a way to get one. Prospective operators can purchase a license from an existing cannabis business. There are three main licensing tiers in the state of Washington:
Marijuana Producer License
The state of Washington offers a Marijuana Producer License. This type of license allows entities to produce cannabis to harvest, produce dry, trim, manicure as well as package cannabis in bulk for sale at a wholesale price to cannabis processor license holders as well as additional cannabis producer license holders.
Moreover, a Marijuana Producer License also allows the production and selling of the following cannabis-related products:
- 1. Cannabis plants, seeds as well as plant matter and culture to other marijuana producer holders
- 2. Immature cannabis plants or clones as well as cannabis seeds to members of a registered cooperating entity, qualifying marijuana patients, or pre-approved cannabis providers
- 3. Immature cannabis plants or clones, as well as cannabis seeds to licensed cannabis researchers.
The application fee for obtaining this type of license is $75.
Marijuana Processor License
The next type of license prospective business owners may be interested in obtaining in Washington is the Marijuana Processor License. This type of license allows license holders to process, dry, manicure, label as well as package consumable cannabis, and cannabis concentrates, as well as cannabis-infused products intended for sale at wholesale value to additional marijuana processors as well as marijuana retailers. Similar to the Marijuana Producer License, the application fee is $75.
Marijuana Retailer License
The last type of license available in Washington is the Marijuana Retailer License. This type of license allows retailers to sell exclusively consumable cannabis, and cannabis concentrates, cannabis-infused products, cannabis equipage. One could also sell securable containers to store cannabis at retail or in retail outlets to individuals who meet the requirements to purchase marijuana in the state of Washington.
Cannabis Purchasing Limits in Washington
Adults who are ages 21 and over must adhere to daily purchasing limits. The current limits outlined by the boards are:
- One ounce (28 grams) of dry cannabis flowers
- ¾ ounce (21 grams) of cannabis concentrates
- 16 ounces (448 grams) of cannabis-infused edibles
- 2 Liters (72 fluid ounces) of cannabis-infused liquids
Most cannabis consumers will agree that is amount is more than enough for daily purchases.
Cannabis Businesses and Advertising
Similar to other items on the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board, there are advertising restrictions that proprietors must follow. This includes:
- No advertising products within 1,000 feet of an elementary school
- Coupons or sweepstakes for cannabis products are prohibited
- Billboards are allowed but must include 21+ age restriction warning
Additional Cannabis Regulatory Information
Getting into the cannabis industry in the state of Washington is a delicate process and requires a tightrope approach to prevent the revocation of licenses. Be sure to consult with the proper entities when advertising cannabis products.Opening a Cannabis Dispensary in Washington Posted by Toker Grace on Jan 6, 2020 10:23:51 AM Cannabis businesses are booming. The industry is projected to generate over $100 billion in revenue within the next five years. A massive portion of that amount is guaranteed to be generated in the state of Washington. Here are a few important… ]]>